Angry Driver

Do you know anyone with this approach to performance management?

angry driver

Actually, it doesn’t work.

About InspGuilfoyle

I am a serving Police Inspector and systems thinker. I am passionate about doing the right thing in policing. I dislike numerical targets and unnecessary bureaucracy.
This entry was posted in Systems thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Angry Driver

  1. patently says:

    No, but I will keep pressing the button on a pedestrian crossing until the box realises I’m in a hurry and changes it to the green man for me. That works 🙂

  2. Tim says:

    I like to smile sweetly and offer bribes (usually promise of some good quality electricity) to the traffic lights to change. I find that, eventually, the lights are motivated by the prospect of some fancy electric and do then change. So it clearly works – that’s science, that is!

  3. Paul says:

    Reminded me of an article I read on the BBC not long ago … http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23869955 which mentioned ‘placebo buttons’! The button is there merely to give the pedestrian the illusion of control …

Leave a comment